Stephen Palmer is the author of seventeen genre works: Memory Seed (Orbit 1996), Glass (Orbit 1997), Flowercrash (Wildside 2002), Muezzinland (Wildside 2003), Hallucinating (Wildside 2004) and The Rat And The Serpent (Prime Books 2005). In 2010 PS Publishing published the far-future Urbis Morpheos. In 2014 Infinity Plus Books published his surreal slipstream steampunk novel Hairy London, and in 2015 his Beautiful Intelligence and short novel No Grave For A Fox. Ebooks of Muezzinland, Hallucinating and The Rat And The Serpent are available from Infinity Plus, who have also published the ebooks of Memory Seed, Glass and Flowercrash. In 2016, Infinity Plus published his alternate-world steampunk Factory Girl trilogy; The Girl With Two Souls / The Girl With One Friend / The Girl With No Soul, with another alternate historical work, Tommy Catkins, out in summer 2018. In 2019 IP published a return to themes of AI, The Autist. Following the relaunch of the Factory Girl trilogy later in 2019 with new Tom Brown covers, IP published a fourth work in the same world, The Conscientious Objector. Woodland Revolution, a mythic prose-poem, came out in 2020. His short stories have been published by Wildside Press, Spectrum SF, Newcon Press, Infinity Plus, Mutation Press, Eibonvale Press, Solaris, TFQ, Unspoken Water, Doghorn Publishing, Kraxon, Tickety Boo Press, The Manchester Speculative Fiction Group, Boo Books, Wayward Plants, Woodbridge Press, the FCC charity, and PS Publishing (forthcoming). In 2019, Newcon Press published a collection of short stories, Tales From The Spired Inn, set in the world of Memory Seed.

Stephen lives and works in Shropshire, UK.

SF posts   Just finished reading   Opinion   The naughty step

Guest blogs    Inspirational books   Uncategorized   Music miscellanea


Some authors speak…

‘Palmer’s imagination is fecund.’ – Paul McAuley on Memory Seed

‘A tour de force in imagining possibilities that lie beyond our information age.’ – Gwyneth Jones on Muezzinland

‘A gripping read to the poignant last line.’ – Eric Brown on Beautiful Intelligence

‘I really liked its blending of historical reality and whimsical – but sinister – fantasy. It’s an enjoyable and ultimately unsettling story, that (much like its hero!) defies easy analysis.’ – Toby Frost on Tommy Catkins

‘One of the most inventive and imaginative fantasy writers I know of.’ – Teresa Edgerton on The Girl With Two Souls

‘A deft twisting together of warring AIs and the evolution of machine intelligence against a global backdrop that’s as thoughtful as it is entertaining.’ – Gary Gibson on The Autist

‘This is first class SF.’ – Tony Ballantyne on The Autist 

If you fancy something a little different in terms of fantasy, you could do a lot worse than give this book a try. It’s refreshingly unusual and, in that sense, Palmer is probably closer in mindset to Lewis Carroll than GRR Martin.– Toby Frost on The Conscientious Objector


Goodreads author page

Author page at amazon.co.uk

Author page at amazon.com

At Infinity Plus Books

Author forum at SFF Chronicles

SF Encyclopaedia