Another FB meme…

by stephenpalmersf

So… I was tagged by Em Tett for the “10 Novels That Have Stayed With You” meme… and here we go for mine.

Gene Wolfe, The Book Of The New Sun

Brian Aldiss, Helliconia

Frank Herbert, Dune

The “big three” of my SF, if you like, these are books I really enjoy re-reading from time to time, and which I think have made a huge impact on SF. I’m also a big fan of the film of Dune.

Tolkien, Lord Of The Rings/The Hobbit

The first and the best, never to be surpassed.

Peter Dickinson, The Weathermonger

Lewis Carroll, Alice In Wonderland

There is something about The Weathermonger (the first novel of The Changes to be published, although it turned out to be the third in the trilogy) that for some reason resonates with me. I re-read it about once a year. I think it must be something to do with the scenario of opening up England to pre-industrial forces, removing cars and machines from the land… a fantasy of mine! It’s a wonderful book.

Richard Adams, Watership Down

Jack Vance, Lyonesse

China Mieville, Perdido Street Station/The Scar

Three marvellous fantasies that never lose their appeal. Lyonesse is for me Vance’s best work, although in volume three he did lose the thread a bit.

John Wyndham, The Day Of The Triffids

Looking at this list, I see that the authors are all white Western men. But all the books above, with the single exception of Perdido Street Station, I read as a much younger man, when there were fewer women getting genre fiction published and almost no non-whites. My reading has broadened considerably since then, and I am a keen supporter of non-Western authors. But I think the theme of “books that have stayed with you” does tug you down the path of books that made an impact when you were a teenager, or even younger – and the list above is almost entirely of novels I read when much younger.

 

weather

The Weathermonger by Peter Dickinson

