Genesis of The Rat & The Serpent

by stephenpalmersf

I’ve just finished going through the ms of The Rat & The Serpent. It seems like a very long time ago that I wrote this…

I remember the initial inspiration. I was waiting to be picked up from work in Exeter one day, the weather was terrible, and a huge, dense stormcloud leaned in from the west. Everything I saw seemed to be in shades of black. People were hurrying to and fro carrying umbrellas. I began thinking to myself, would it be possible to write a novel entirely in black-and-white? (like a film maker might make a film in black-and-white). It would have to be a gothic novel… Then I imagined the people with their umbrellas sheltering from soot, not rain – and so the basis for The Rat & The Serpent was born.

Curious how so many of my novels start with such small, apparently insubstantial beginnings…

 

